This years honorary fellows announced


Bangor University is set to award twelve Honorary Fellowships during its 2014 graduation ceremonies.

The men and women who are to be recognized have all either done remarkable things for Wales or have ties to the university its self. Amongst them is Welsh newsreader Huw Edwards, Welsh opera singer Rhys Meirion and local Welsh international rugby player, George North.

For their outstanding contribution to Welsh Broadcasting are veteran broadcasters Beti George and Dei Tomos will be honoured. Whilst husband and wife entrepreneurs, David and Alison Lea-Wilson, founders of the successful Halen Môn and the Anglesey Sea Zoo will be rewarded for their contribution to business in north Wales.

Professor John G Hughes, Vice-Chancellor of Bangor University commented:

“Bangor University is strongly grounded within its community and we’re delighted to be able to acknowledge the valuable contributions made by these individuals in their chosen fields. They have made a vital contribution to Welsh life or have a strong connection with Bangor University, and we’re looking forward to welcoming them to our degree ceremonies in July.”

The full list of individuals set to receive the Honorary Fellowship are:

Not listed above due to lack of available images is:

Professor Robert Owen Jones OBE
For services to the promotion of the Welsh language in Patagonia Retired Professor of Welsh from Cardiff University; Bangor graduate who began his academic career at Bangor – 9 years in the Linguistics Department; awarded OBE in 2012 for promoting and revitalizing the Welsh language in Patagonia.


About Author

Editor 2014/15, Books Editor 2013/14

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.