And the winner is…


It is that time of year again, when we look back on Britain’s sporting achievements over the last 12 months and the public votes for the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year. Last year’s winner was Mark Cavendish, after he won the Green Jersey at the Tour de France and the World road race championships. Obviously, one of the highlights of the year was the London Olympics and Team GB’s success there. The majority of the candidates will therefore be Olympians and Paralympians. However, there have been moments outside the Olympics this year which have been memorable, including Wimbledon, the Tour de France and the Ryder Cup. Here is brief look at the candidates for the camera shaped trophy as selected by an expert panel, including Sir Steve Redgrave, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson and Denise Lewis:

·         Nicola Adams – first female Olympic boxing champion

·         Ben Ainslie – fourth consecutive gold medal  in Finn class, most decorated Olympic sailor

·         Jessica Ennis – poster girl of Olympics, gold medallist in heptathlon with new personal best

·         Mo Farah – double Olympic gold medallist in 5,000 and 10,000 metres, first Briton to win both at same Olympics

·         Katherine Granger – finally won Olympic gold in rowing after three silvers in successive Games

·         Sir Chris Hoy – double gold medallist in team sprint and keirin; 6 golds in total, Britain’s most successful Olympian ahead of Sir Steve Redgrave

·         Rory McIlroy – second youngest World Number 1, second major win at US PGA Championship (youngest player to win two majors since Seve Ballesteros), member of Ryder Cup winning team, topped money lists on both US and European tour

·         Andy Murray – first British tennis player to reach Wimbledon final in 74 years, gold and silver medallist and his maiden Grand Slam victory in US Open (first British tennis player to win major championship in 76 years)

·         Ellie Simmonds – won two Paralympic swimming golds including breaking her own world record, also won a silver and a bronze

·         Sarah Storey – four gold medals in Paralympics; 11 in total, level with swimmer Dave Roberts and wheelchair racer Tanni Grey-Thompson

·         David Weir – four gold medals at Paralympics – 800 metres, 1,500 metres, 5,000 metres and marathon; career total of 10 Paralympic medals

·         Bradley Wiggins – first British winner of the Tour de France and gold medallist in time trial; fourth career Olympic gold medal

This year, Sports’ Personality of the Year is being held at London’s ExCel on Sunday 16th December. It is on BBC One from 19:30.


About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.